Back to top

    2018 Three Minute Thesis Competition Winners Announced​

    American Public University System is proud to announce the winner of our 2018 People's Choice Award for the Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT®).

    Out of the three finalists, Amber Causey was voted the People’s Choice Award winner. 

    Congratulations to all of our finalists and our People's Choice Award winner! View all of the videos below.

    All Entries

    Scroll down to load more entries Click to load more entries

    What is the 3MT Competition?

    Graduate students around the world are participating in the Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT®). First established by Australia's University of Queensland in 2008, 3MT® provides graduate students with a unique opportunity to take a master's degree research project and condense it into a three-minute presentation using just a single slide.

    The competition supports skills development that challenges graduate students to explain their project to a non-specialist audience in a very short time. This is a valuable asset when preparing executive business summaries, or sharing details with an audience that is not familiar with the topics being addressed.

    Current American Military University (AMU) and American Public University (APU) graduate students – as well as the alumni of these graduate programs – are eligible to participate in the 3MT® annual competition.

    American Public University System, Inc.’s 3 Minute Thesis Competition (3MT®)

    People’s Choice Voting: Official Rules


    American Public University System, Inc.’s 3 Minute Thesis Competition (the “Promotion”) consists of entries received during the initial “Promotion Period”. Employees of American Public University System, Inc. (“APUS”) and their immediate families (and those living in their households) were not eligible to participate.

    3MT entries that have been selected as finalists based on the original “Judging Criteria” will be displayed on the Internet for public voting during a two-week period, beginning at 12:01 a.m. EST on May 21, 2018 and ending at 11:59 p.m. EST on June 4, 2018 (the “Voting Period”).

    Users can only vote on one video selection, per day, during the Voting Period. The submission with the greatest number of votes will be selected as the People’s Choice winner.

    The winner will be notified by electronic mail within (7) days of the selection. The winner must comply with all instructions in the prize notification communication, including completion of an affidavit of eligibility and liability/publicity release, and return the affidavit within ten (10) days of the date on the notification, and also must meet all of the eligibility requirements set forth within these rules except where prohibited by law. If these requirements are not met, the prize will be forfeited. Acceptance of a prize constitutes permission for APUS and its affiliates to use winner’s name and likeness for advertising and promotional purposes without compensation, unless otherwise prohibited by law.

    APUS is not responsible for lost or misdirected mail or for any additional costs associated with the prize.  Return of any prize notification as undeliverable will result in disqualification. By accepting a prize, winners agree to release, discharge, and hold harmless APUS, its affiliates, subsidiaries, agents, officers, directors, and employees from any damages which may arise out of participation in the Promotion or out of the acceptance, use, misuse, or possession of a prize. Liability for any applicable taxes, including all federal, state, and local taxes and/or other fees or expenses that may apply to prizes, are the sole responsibility of the winner.

    APUS reserves the right to suspend or cancel the Promotion or modify these official rules as necessary for any reason or as required by applicable law.

    This promotion is sponsored by American Public University System, Inc., 111 West Congress Street, Charles Town, WV 25414, and is governed by the laws of the State of West Virginia and the United States of America, without regard for conflict of laws rules.